ELECTRICAL ACCREDITATION TRAINING FOR THE NEW NF C 18-510 STANDARD

Electrical Accreditation Training for Non-Electricians

Electrical Accreditation B0 H0 H0V

B0 H0 H0V

Intended for non-electrical staff working in the vicinity of electrical installations.

Electrical Accreditation BS BE HE

BS BE HE

Intended for staff responsible for carrying out protective maneuvers and resets in electrical rooms in LV or HV, and performing basic operations on electrical installations or on electrical equipment.

Electrical Accreditation Training for Electricians

Electrical Accreditation B1 B2 BC BR

B1 B2 BC BR

Intended for electrician or electromechanical staff called to carry out lockout-tagout procedures, and/or supervise de-energized, non-live work, and perform general operations.

Electrical Accreditation B1 B2 BC BR H1 H2

B1 B2 BC BR H1 H2

Intended for electrical or electromechanical staff, working in LV and/or HV, tasked with carrying out lockout-tagout procedures, supervising de-energized, non-live work, performing general operations, and carrying out or organizing tests.

Electrical Accreditation Refresher Retraining

Accreditation Refresher Retraining Course for Non-Electricians

Refresher Retraining Course for Non-Electricians

Intended for non-electrical staff working in the vicinity of electrical installations and facing electrical hazards.

Accreditation Refresher Retraining Course for Electricians

Refresher Retraining Course for Electricians

Intended for electrical staff tasked with carrying out operations in low voltage and high voltage, LV & HV.

Electrical Accreditation Trainer Training Course

Accreditation Trainer Training Course

Training course to become a trainer

Intended for individuals wishing to learn teaching techniques and training methods in order to share their knowledge and know-how.

PROVISIONS OF THE LABOR CODE

The new legislative provisions for the prevention of electrical hazards seek to increase the safety of work carried out on electrical installations,or in their vicinity, by enforcing the mandatory electrical accreditation of operators.

Since July 1, 2011, only individuals who, after receiving preparatory training in the prevention of electrical hazards, have been accredited by their employer, are authorized to carry out electrical work.

A REGULATORY REQUIREMENT

Electrical accreditation training is part of the new legislative provisions establishing the restrictions set, on main contractors and employers, for the design, development, use, and operation of electrical installations (decrees no. 2010-1016, 2010- 1017, 1018 of August 30, and no. 2010-1118 of September 22, 2010).

These new legislative provisions establish safety tenets and objectives for anticipating electrical hazards, referencing standards for their implementation.

Previous labor regulations (decree no. 88-1056 of November 14,1988, amended) did not require mandatory accreditation for work on electrical installations or in their vicinity. The bulletin of February 6, 1989, based on the UTE C 18-510 publication, only recommended the process of accreditation.

As of July 1, 2011, electrical accreditation training has become alegal obligation under articles R. 4544-9 to R. 4544-11 of the Labor Code, issued by decree no. 2010 – 1118 of September 22, 2010.

An ancillary obligation was imposed on January 1, 2013 for the accreditation of workers tasked with carrying out live electrical work who, in applying preventive principles, are restricted to situations where the installation’s lockout-tagout or protection by obstacle, removal or isolation, have been unsuccessful in eliminating electrical hazards.

The workers concerned will only be accredited after receiving certification issued by an accredited certification body. An ordinance will establish the competencies required of these employees, the evaluation criteria used by certification bodies, and the reference standards for the accreditation of certification bodies.

THE NF C 18-510 STANDARD, A TECHNICAL REFERENT

The NF C 18-510 standard, approved on December 21, 2011(2), completes this regulatory framework. In effect, articles R. 4544-9 and R. 4544-3 of the Labor Code underscore that the employer is to deliver, maintain, and renew the accreditation of workers, based on the standards referenced in an ordinance from the Ministries of Labor and Agriculture. The ordinance of April 26, 2012, which came into force on May 6, 2012, references the NF C 18-510 standard approved on December 21, 2011, defining the scope of the work activities concerned, and detailing the methods prescribed for carrying out these operations.

The accreditation process described in the standard is not enforced; the rule constitutes a technical referent, the application of which implies the regulatory framework’s compliance with legislative obligations.

It should be noted that the scope of application of the standard is wider than that of the Labor Code, because the standard encompasses the operations covered in the Labor Code, and those relating to electrical power distribution works falling under decree no 82-167 of February 16, 2012.

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE REGULATORY FRAMEWORK

To reflect the dates of approval of the standard and of publication of the ordinance referencing it (later dates than that of entry into force of the decree), the Ministry of Labor has provided, in a bulletin, (3) a four-year moratorium, from July 1, 2011 – until July 1, 2015 – to grant employers the time to gradually incorporate employees into the accreditation process based on the standard.

Accreditation certificates issued between July 1st, 2011 and December 26, 2011 (date of publication of the NF C 18-510 standard) remain valid for three years (the accreditation renewal interval recommended in the standard).

In every case, the employer will have to oversee that workers participating in the same operation are accredited for the same standards.

ELECTRICAL ACCREDITATION : WHO ISSUES IT ?

Under the approved C 18-510 standard, accreditation is « the recognition, on the part of the employer, that a person under his authority is fully competent to accomplish the tasks entrusted to him in full safety with respect to electrical hazards ».

This requirement affects both private-sector employers, and those subject to the Labor Code, as well as state and territorial public services.

The employer responsible for accreditation may be, depending on the legal circumstances of the worker, an external company, a company using the workers of a temporary employment agency (although the latter is responsible for training them in electrical safety),or the hosting company, in the case of apprentices and interns.

ELECTRICAL OPERATIONS AND INSTALLATIONS COVERED

The operations defined in articles R. 4544-2 and R. 4544-3 of the Labor Code, and in the C 18-510 standard, can be of an electrical or non-electrical nature, and carried out on electrical installations or in their vicinity, whether said installations are permanent or temporary.

The works carried out on electrical installations are those in the high and low voltage domains (de-energized or live work, maneuvers, tests, measurements, verifications), and in the low voltage domain (operations).

Operations in the vicinity of electrical installations encompass operations of an electrical and non-electrical nature, carried out around live bare parts within a defined area, the size of which varies according to the voltage domain (an ordinance will define the dimensions of said areas).

THE APPROACH TO ELECTRICAL ACCREDITATION

Analysis of the activities, skills, and competencies of the worker; training, issuance of the accreditation and a provisions booklet; renewal and monitoring of the accreditation.

Pursuant to article L. 4121-4, the employer takes into account the nature of the activities of the enterprise, and the competencies of the worker, to implement anticipative measures before assigning tasks to the worker.

The accreditation issued by the company stipulates the nature of the operations the worker is authorized to carry out within the restrictions of the attributions entrusted to him (art. R. 4544-10).

In order to determine what accreditation grade to issue, the company considers the activities of the worker in question. It takes into account the type of operation (electrical or non-electrical), the worker’s role, the nature of the operations (lockout-tagout, works, tests…), the particularities of the installation, and the conditions in which the work is performed.

The level of accreditation held by a worker takes into account the activities assigned to him and the electrical environment. It is identified by a coded symbol consisting in three alphanumeric characters with a possible additional mention or attribute. The accreditation symbol, defined in the standard, is suited to the nature of the operations and to the voltage domain of the electrical installations.

The employer must also consider the technical competencies of the worker to be accredited (professional certificates, diplomas), as well as his/her particular skills (experience, attitude, medical fitness). The employer ensures, in particular, that the worker assigned to these operations has been declared as fit by an occupational physician.

He makes sure that the activities, competencies and skills of the worker in question are all in alignment.

He determines the type of training required to prevent any applicable electrical hazards. This pre-accreditation training covers the general obligation of providing safety training for electrical hazards at the time of hiring, after each change of workstation, and to all temporary employment agency workers (article L. 4141-2 of the Labor Code).

The Health, Safety and Working Conditions Committee is consulted on the safety training program established by the employer (art. L. 4143-1), and participates in its preparation (art R. 4143-1). The training imparted for electrical accreditation is both theoretical and practical. It addresses the hazards associated with electricity, and the measures to be taken for safe operation in work activities (art. R. 4544-10).

For the ease of employers, the standard provides knowledge repositories for the initial training and for subsequent retraining.

At the end of the accreditation training, the National Center for Safety and Environmental Training (C.N.F.S.E by its initials in French) evaluates the theoretical and practical knowledge of the trainee, and issues an opinion.

The employer takes this opinion into account before accrediting the worker in question (examples provided in the standard).

He gives the accredited worker a provisions booklet based on the prescriptions pertaining to the C18-510 standard, complemented, if necessary, with safety instructions specific to the work activity at hand (art. R. 4544-10).

The employer also provides any appropriate personal protective equipment that may be necessary.

The company makes sure that accredited workers always have the competencies and skills necessary to safely carry out their duties in their work environment.

The worker’s electrical accreditation must be valid at the start of each work activity.

Every year, the company ensures that its accreditation requirements are aligned with the foreseeable evolution of works to be undertaken.

The accreditation expires on a predetermined date, as well as in the event of modifications to the installation, to work methods, etc. The retraining frequency recommended in the standard is every three years (two years in cases of occasional practice).

HABILITATION ÉLECTRIQUE FORMATION NOUVELLE NORME NF C 18-510

Formation habilitation électrique pour non électricien

Habilitation électrique B0 H0 H0V

B0 H0 H0V

Destinée au personnel non électricien travaillant à proximité des installations électriques.

Habilitation électrique BS BE HE

BS BE HE

Destinée au personnel chargé de réaliser des manœuvres et réarmements de protection dans les locaux de service électriques en BT et HT d’accomplir des interventions élémentaire sur des installations et des équipements électriques

Formation habilitation électrique pour électricien

Habilitation électrique B1 B2 BC BR

B1 B2 BC BR

Destinée au personnel électricien ou électromécanicien appelé à exécuter des consignations et/ou diriger des travaux hors tension, et d’effectuer des interventions générales.

Habilitation électrique B1 B2 BC BR H1 H2

B1 B2 BC BR H1 H2

Destinée au personnel électricien ou électromécanicien chargé en BT et/ou HT d’exécuter des consignations, diriger des travaux hors tension, d’exécuter des interventions générales chargé de travaux, d’exécuter ou s’organiser des essais.

Formation recyclage habilitation électrique

Recyclage Habilitation Non électricien

Recyclage Non électricien

Destinée au personnel non électricien qui travaille à proximité des installations et des risques électriques.

Recyclage Habilitation Électricien

Recyclage Électricien

Destinée au personnel électricien qui est chargé d’exécuter des interventions en basse et haute tension BH & BT.

Formation formateur habilitation électrique

Formation formateur Habilitation

Formation pour devenir formateur

Acquérir les techniques et les méthodes pédagogiques afin de partager son savoir et son savoir-faire.

DISPOSITIONS DU CODE DU TRAVAIL

Les nouveaux aménagements législatifs pour prévenir les risques électrique visent à renforcer la sécurité pendant la réalisation de travaux sur ou au voisinage d’installations électriques en rendant obligatoire l’habilitation électrique des opérateurs.

Depuis le 1er juillet 2011, seules les personnes habilitées par l’employeur après une formation préalable à la prévention des risques électriques sont accréditées à réaliser les travaux.

SESSIONS HABILITATION

UNE EXIGENCE RÉGLEMENTAIRE

La formation habilitation électrique s’inscrit dans le nouvel aménagement législatif qui fixe les contraintes des maîtres d’ouvrage et des employeurs pour la conception, la réalisation, l’utilisation et l’exploitation des installations électriques (décrets n° 2010-1016, 2010- 1017, 1018 du 30 août et n° 2010-1118 du 22 septembre 2010).

Les nouveaux aménagements législatifs fixent les objectifs de sécurité et les fondements pour l’anticipation des risques électriques et renvoient à des normes pour leur mise en pratique.

Lors de travaux sur ou à proximité d’installations électriques, la réglementation du travail antécédente (décret n° 88-1056 du 14 novembre 1988 modifié) n’exigeait pas l’habilitation . Le circulaire du 6 février 1989 et s’appuyait sur la publication UTE C 18-510 recommandait simplement le processus d’habilitation.

À partir du 1er juillet 2011, la formation habilitation électrique est devenue une obligation légalerelevant des articles R. 4544-9 à R. 4544-11 du Code du travail, issus du décret n° 2010 – 1118 du 22 septembre 2010.

Une obligation complémentaire est imposée s’imposera à partir du 1er janvier 2013 pour l’habilitation des travailleurs chargés de réaliser des travaux sous tension qui, en application des principes de prévention, sont délimités aux situations où la consignation de l’installation ou la protection par obstacle, éloignement ou isolation, n’ont pas satisfait à écarter le risque.

Les travailleurs considérés ne seront habilités qu’après avoir été certifiés par un organisme de certification accrédité. Un arrêté fixera les compétences requises pour ces employés, les critères d’évaluation usés par les organismes de certification et les normes de références pour l’accréditation des organismes de certification.

LA NORME NF C 18-510, UN RÉFÉRENTIEL TECHNIQUE

La norme NF C 18-510, homologuée le 21 décembre 2011(2), vient parfaire le dispositif réglementaire. En effet, les articles du Code du travail R. 4544-9 et R. 4544-3 subodorent que l’employeur délivre, maintient et renouvelle l’habilitation en s’appuyant sur les normes référencées dans un arrêté des ministères du Travail et de l’Agriculture. L’arrêté du 26 avril 2012, entré en vigueur le 6 mai 2012, renvoie à la norme NF C 18-510 homologuée le 21 décembre 2011 qui définit les travaux visés et détaille les méthodes préconisées pour l’exécution de ces opérations.

Le processus d’habilitation décrit dans la norme n’est pas rendu obligatoire, la règle constitue un référentiel technique dont l’application fait présumer la conformité du dispositif avec les obligations législatives.

À noter, le champ d’application de la norme est plus large que celui du Code du travail puisque la norme porte sur les opérations visées par le Code du travail et sur les ouvrages de distribution d’énergie électrique relevant du décret n° 82-167 du 16 février 2012.

MISE EN ŒUVRE DE L’ENSEMBLE DU DISPOSITIF

Pour tenir compte des dates d’homologation de la norme et de publication de l’arrêté la référençant (postérieures à celle de l’entrée en vigueur du décret), le ministère du Travail a prévu par circulaire (3) un délai de quatre ans à compter du 1er juillet 2011 – soit le 1er juillet 2015 – pour laisser aux employeurs le temps d’assimiler graduellement l’ensemble des salariés considérés dans le processus d’habilitation en s’appuyant sur la norme.

Les habilitations délivrées entre le 1er juillet 2011 et le 26 décembre 2011 (date de publication de la norme NF C 18-510) restent valides pendant trois ans (durée recommandée dans la norme pour le renouvellement de l’habilitation).

En tout état de cause, l’employeur devra contrôler que les travailleurs participant à une même opération soient habilités selon les mêmes normes.

HABILITATION ÉLECTRIQUE : QUI HABILITE ?

Selon la norme homologuée C 18-510, l’habilitation est « la reconnaissance par l’employeur de la capacité d’une personne placée sous son autorité à accomplir les tâches qui lui sont confiées en sécurité vis-à-vis du risque électrique ».

Cette prescription touche les employeurs de droit privé et les établissements soumis au Code du travail ainsi que les fonctions publiques d’État et territoriale.

L’employeur responsable de l’habilitation est, selon la situation juridique du travailleur, l’entreprise externe, l’entreprise utilisatrice pour les salariés d’une entreprise de travail temporaire (mais celle-ci est tenue de les former à la sécurité électrique), l’entreprise d’accueil pour les apprentis et stagiaires.

OPÉRATIONS ET INSTALLATIONS ÉLECTRIQUES VISÉES

Les opérations, définies aux articles R. 4544-2 et R. 4544-3 du Code du travail et dans la norme C 18-510, peuvent être d’ordre électrique ou non, réalisées sur ou au voisinage d’installations électriques, qu’elles soient permanentes ou momentanées.

Les travaux réalisés sur les installations électriques sont ceux des domaines haute et basse tension (travaux hors tension ou sous tension, manœuvres, essais, mesurages, vérifications) et celles du domaine basse tension (interventions).

Les opérations dans le voisinage d’installations électriques comprennent les opérations d’ordre électrique et non électrique effectuées dans une zone définie autour de pièces nues sous tension, zone dont les dimensions varient en fonction du domaine de tension (un arrêté définira les dimensions de ces zones).

LA DÉMARCHE D’HABILITATION ÉLECTRIQUE

Analyse de l’activité, aptitudes et compétences du travailleur, formation, remise du titre d’habilitation et du carnet de prescriptions, renouvellement et suivi de l’habilitation.

Suivant l’article L. 4121-4, l’employeur prendre en compte la nature des activités de l’établissement et des capacités du travailleur à mettre en œuvre les mesures d’anticipation avant de donner des tâches à un travailleur.

L’habilitation délivrée par la société stipule la nature des opérations que le travailleur est autorisé à réaliser dans les limites des attributions qui lui sont confiées (art. R. 4544-10).

Pour déterminer quelle habilitation délivrer, l’entreprise examine l’activité du travailleur concerné. Il prend en compte le type de l’opération (électrique ou non), la fonction du travailleur, la nature des opérations (consignation, travaux, essais..), les particularités des installations et les conditions d’exécution des travaux.

Le niveau d’habilitation retenu pour un travailleur tient compte de l’activité qui lui est attribué et de l’environnement électrique. Il est repéré par un symbole codifié comprenant trois caractères alphanumériques et éventuellement une mention complémentaire ou attribut. Le symbole d’habilitation, défini dans la norme, est adapté à la nature des opérations et du domaine de tension des installations électriques.

L’employeur doit également examiner les compétences techniques du travailleur à habiliter (diplômes, certificat professionnel…) et ses aptitudes (expérience, savoir-être, aptitude médicale). Il s’assure en particulier que le travailleur affecté à ces opérations est reconnu apte par le médecin du travail.

Il veille à l’adéquation entre l’activité, les compétences et les aptitudes du travailleur considéré.

Il détermine la formation à la prévention du risque électrique adaptée. Cette formation préalable à l’habilitation décline pour le risque électrique l’obligation générale de formation à la sécurité délivrée à l’embauche et, chaque fois que nécessaire, à chaque mutation de poste et aux salariés de travail temporaire (article L. 4141-2 du code du travail).

Le CHSCT est sollicité sur le programme de formation à la sécurité établi par l’employeur (art. L. 4143-1) et participe à sa préparation (art R. 4143-1). La formation délivrée en vue de l’habilitation électrique est à la fois théorique et pratique. Elle porte sur la connaissance des risques liés à l’électricité et des mesures à prendre pour intervenir en sécurité lors de la réalisation des travaux (art. R. 4544-10).

Pour faciliter l’employeur, la norme fournit des référentiels de savoir pour la formation initiale et celle de recyclage.

À la  fin de la formation habilitation, le Centre National de Formation en Sécurité et Environnement (C.N.F.S.E) évalue les connaissances théoriques et pratiques et délivre un avis.

L’employeur prend en compte cet avis avant de remettre au travailleur concerné un titre d’habilitation(exemples proposés par la norme).

Il donne au salarié habilité un carnet de prescriptions réalisé sur la base des prescriptions pertinentes de la norme C18-510, parachevé si nécessaire par des instructions de sécurité particulières au travail à réaliser (art. R. 4544-10).

Il donne aussi les équipements de protection individuelle adaptés.

La société veille à ce qu’un travailleur habilité ait toujours les compétences et les aptitudes nécessaires à l’exécution des tâches en sécurité dans son milieu de travail.

L’habilitation électrique est à valider au début de chaque travaux.

Tous les ans, la société examine la concordance des besoins en matière d’habilitation avec les évolutions prévisibles des travaux à réaliser.

Elle est remise en cause à échéance prédéterminée et en cas de modification de l’installation, des méthodes de travail, etc. La périodicité du recyclage recommandée par la norme est de trois ans (deux ans en cas de pratique occasionnelle).

1 Commentaire

Commentaires fermés